Canadian Judges to 2011 International Cup Selected

March 4, 2011 - Three judges will represent Canada at the 2011 WBTF International Cup in Jacksonville, Florida. Joining Ron Kopas (CBTF Judges' Rep) will be Brenda Cooper and Deardra Leslie.

All three are WBTF Master Judges and are certified to judge all WBTF International Cup events. Each is a very experienced Canadian judge, having judged at numerous Provincial and National Championships over the past five years.

On the world stage, Ron was one of Canada's judges at the 2010 WBTF World Championships (Norway) and the 2008 WBTF International Cup (Ireland). Brenda was one of Canada's judges at the 2010 WBTF World Championships (Norway) and the 2009 WBTF International Cup (Australia). This is Deardra's first WBTF International Cup, but she has previously represented Canada at five WBTF World Championships.

This year marked a change in the process of choosing Canada's judges to the International Cup, developed in late 2010 under the leadership of Past Technical Chair Karen Gratton. All applicants were assessed by the Selection Committee on three factors:

  • the results of a series of practical judging assignments
  • their judging experience and other qualities as reported on their application

The Selection Committee, appointed in December, was comprised of CBTF Technical Chair Elan Paluck, CBTF Coaches Rep Kim Genton, CBTF Judges Rep Ron Kopas, Brenda Arsenault (NB), Dana Peteleski (MB), Maurice Berry (SK) and Deb Dearing (AB). The CBTF Board extends its thanks to this group for the thought and consideration they exercised while determining Canada's judge representatives.

Congratulations to Ron, Brenda and Deardra as they prepare for this exciting opportunity.

No votes yet