Canadian Judges to 2017 International Cup and Grand Prix Selected

February 22, 2017, *updated May 18, 2017 - Three judges will represent Canada at the 2017 International Cup in Porec, Croatia. Joining Ron Kopas (CBTF World Judges' Rep) will be Catherine Lemyre and Jenna Jemieff. Normally, Canada would send two judges to the International Cup, but in response to a direct request from the WBTF, Canada has agreed to send a third judge to this year's competition.

Ron, Catherine and Jenna are all WBTF Master Judges and are certified to judge all WBTF International Cup events. Each is a very experienced Canadian judge, having judged at numerous Provincial and National Championships over the past five years.

Ron and Catherine will also be invited to judge at the 2017 IBTF Grand Prix - which will also be held in Porec on August 4, 5, and 6.

All three judges have previously represented Canada on the world stage:

  • Ron was one of Canada's judges at the 2016 WBTF World Championships (Sweden), 2015 WBTF International Cup and 2015 IBTF Grand Prix (Canada), 2014 WBTF World Championships (England), 2013 WBTF International Cup (The Netherlands), and the 2012 WBTF World Championships (France).
  • Catherine was one of Canada's judges at the 2017 WBTF Pan-Pacific Cup - this will be her first International Cup competition as a judge. She has represented Canada as an athlete at the 2007 World Championship and International Cup competitions. Catherine is currently the Ontario Technical Chair.
  • Jenna was one of Canada's judges at the 2016 WBTF World Championships (Sweden) and the 2015 WBTF International Cup (Canada). She has also represented Canada as an atlhete in nine World Championship/International Cup competitions, from 2003-2010 and 2012). Jenna is currently the Alberta Technical Chair.

Continuing with the policy implemented in 2010, all applicants were assessed by a Judge Selection Committee on two factors:

  • the results of a series of practical judging assignments (80%)
  • their commitment to, and participation in, continuing professional development (20%)

The Selection Committee, appointed in November, was comprised of CBTF Technical Chair Dana Peteleski, CBTF Coaches Rep Maureen Johnson, CBTF Judges Rep Amy Kalin, Brenda Arsenault-LeBlanc (NB), Sheryl Baraniuk (ON), Cindy Dietrich (SK), and Shannon Webster (BC). The CBTF Board extends its thanks to this group for the thought and consideration they exercised while determining this judging panel.

Congratulations to Ron, Catherine, and Jenna as they prepare for this exciting opportunity.

*Updated May 18 to add Jenna Jemieff as a third judge from Canada at the International Cup.

No votes yet