2009 CBTF Honorary Memberships Announced

July 1, 2009 - At the 2009 Canadian Baton Twirling Championships, Joanne Moser, CBTF First Vice-President, presented three Honorary Memberships. Honorary Memberships can be awarded to any one who has contributed to the sport of baton twirling. Individuals are nominated and submitted for approval by the CBTF Executive.

The first of this year's recipients is Gladys Peteleski. Gladys was CBTF President for many years. She was a true leader, encouraging the development of programs in all aspects of the sport. She was competition director for many Canadian Championships and planned and organized numerous world contingents.

The second recipient is Elva Taylor. Elva was involved as the chair of the SBTA, and also as a member of the CBTF Board of Directors, and Executive Member. Elva held the CBTF President's position, and was an active and involved Past President as well.

Our final recipient is a posthumous award. In September 2008 Clint Weese passed away. He leaves behind his wife Marlene, and daughters Sharlene and Karen. Clint's passion was numbers - he started out in the tab room at local competitions, soon heading up Saskatchewan Provincials, and then Chief Tabulator at several Canadian Championships. He was the Chief Tabulator for the 2002 World Baton Championships in Saskatoon. He continued to donate countless hours of volunteer time - many of them in the tab room, at times unable to watch his daughters compete, but happy to do what he could to contribute to the success of the events.

A list of all recipients for this award is available [1].

By admin at Thu, 07/09/2009 - 07:48

Source URL: https://www.cbtf.ca/article/2009-cbtf-honorary-memberships-announced?mini=2024-03#comment-0

Links

[1] http://www.cbtf.ca/content/honorary-memberships