

Canadian Baton Twirling Federation

La Fédération Canadienne de Baton Sportif

CBTF Annual General Minutes

Grant MacEwan College June 30, 2009 Sanction: CBTF-09-CA-8030

A. Call to Order

Jeff called the meeting to order – 6:20pm

B. Call

Attendance:

Jeff Johnson – President
Gail Ashcroft – Past President
Joanne Moser – 1st Vice Chair
Sandi Watt – 2nd Vice Chair
Michelle Bretherick – Treasurer
Charlene Priel – Secretary
Karen Gratton – Technical Chair
Ron Kopas – Judges Representative
Kyla Wilson – Athletes' Representative
LeeAnn Wilson – ON Provincial Chair
Bonnie Brinker – AB Provincial Chair
Janice Larkin – SK Provincial Chair
Denise DeWolff – BC Provincial Chair
Solange St. Coeur – NB Provincial Chair

Regrets:

Kristin Macareg – Coaches Representative Lynne Opperman – MB Provincial Chair Luc Guy – QU Representative

AGM Guests (CBTF Members)
Debbie Middleton
Brenda Arsenault LeBlanc – Music Library Coordinator
Christina Caskey
Inga McLean
Candy Tedford
Shari Foster
Beth Jamieson

C. Opening Remarks

Confirming voting members – 13 Board members eligible to vote during the AGM and 13 members eligible to vote during elections. Gail Ashcroft, Nomination Chairperson will act as the Presiding Officer for the elections.

Treasurers budget item removed due to the electrical fire, as the executive were unable to meet yesterday. Item moved to Friday, July 3 Board meeting.

MOTION #1

Michelle Bretherick moves:

We adopt the agenda of the 2009 AGM, as amended. Removed the 2010 Budget (Item 1.2)

Seconded by Gail Ashcroft

For: 13 Against: 0 Abstain: 0

PASSED

D. Approval of Minutes of 2008 AGM Moncton, New Brunswick

MOTION #2

Ron Kopas moves:

The minutes from the 2008 AGM be adopted as distributed.

Seconded by Denise DeWolff

For: 13 Against: 0 Abstain: 0

PASSED

E. Old Business

Revisions to CBTF Constitution and By-Laws and CBTF Policy Manual
Joanne provided an update. Lost most of the committee members', therefore need to add
people so the workload is manageable. Typing has been completed. If we can add members,
it's a possibility that this can be prepared for Fall Board Meetings. Gail offered to continue to
assist the process. Joanne to solicit committee members.

F. New Business

1. Treasurer's Report

2009 was a challenge. Wrote off some nsf cheques that became uncollectable. The finance committee, which consisted of Jean Thibeault, Candy Tedford and Denise Johnston, reviewed, asked questions and were answered. End result, the books are in good order.

Treasurer's Report

MOTION #3

Sandra Watt moved:

That the Board accept the July 2009 Treasurers Report as presented.

Seconded by LeeAnn Wilson

For: 13 Against: 0 Abstain: 0

- 2. Director's Reports
 - a. President Jeff Johnson oral PRESIDENTS REPORT
 - b. 1st Vice President Joanne Moser oral 1st VICE PRESIDENT REPORT
 - c. 2nd Vice President Sandra Watt oral 2nd VICE PRESIDENT REPORT

 Note: Waivers must be signed by the rightful person, not another adult
 - d. Secretary Charlene Priel oral <u>SECRETARY REPORT</u>
 - e. Past President Gail Ashcroft oral PAST PRESIDENT REPORT
 - f. Technical Chair Karen Gratton oral TECHNICAL CHAIR REPORT
 - 1. Attended WBTF Technical meeting in February
 - 2. Dana retyped the whole manual
 - 3. Lucinda McMaster and Brenda Cooper will be judging at International Cup 2009
 - 4. Disappointment on non involvement from coaches rep 2009
 - g. Judges Representative Ron Kopas oral <u>JUDGES REPORT</u>
 - 1. New judging system takes affect 2012. Canada responsible for contact section on the new system.
 - h. Coaches' Representative Kristin Macaraeg no report
 - i. Athletes' Representative Kyla Wilson oral ATHLETE'S REP REPORT
 - j. BTABC Representative Denise DeWolff oral BTABC REPORT
 - k. ABTA Representative Bonnie Brinker oral ABTA REPORT
 - I. SBTA Representative Janice Larkin oral SBTA REPORT
 - m. MBTSA Representative Lynne Opperman no report
 - n. OBTA Representative LeeAnn Wilson oral OBTA REPORT
 - o. FQBC Representative Luc Guay no report
 - p. BNB Representative Solange St. Couer oral BNB REPORT
 - q. Group Events Representative Brenda Bennett no report
 - r. Sanction Officer Sylvia Kernohan no report
 - s. Badge Officer (SDP Rep) Denise Johnston no report
 - t. Manuals & Tape Coordinator Kim Johnson no report

- u. Music & Library Coordinator Brenda Arsenault LeBlanc oral <u>MUSIC/LIBRARY</u> REPORT
- v. Media Library Coordinator Rachel Bower no report
- w. Data Entry Coordinator Sylvia Kernohan no report

MOTION #4

Michelle Bretherick moves:

That the Directors' Reports presented at the 2009 AGM be accepted as presented.

Seconded by Gail Ashcroft

For: 13 Against: 0 Abstain: 0

PASSED

3. Nominating Committee – Gail Ashcroft

- **a.** Candy and Inga will be collecting and counting votes.
- **b.** Gail will have tie breaking vote if necessary.
- **c.** Board elections took place with the following results:
 - i. President Jeff Johnson
 - ii. 2nd Vice President Beth Jamieson
 - iii. Secretary Lisa Wilde

MOTION #5

Gail Ashcroft moves:

For the 2009-2011 term, nominations for the Technical positions of Judges Rep and Athletes Rep be accepted from the floor of the 2009 AGM.

Seconded by Sandra Watt

For: 12 Against: 0 Abstain: 0 Absent: 1

- d. Technical Representative election results:
 - i. Coaches' Rep Kim Genton
 - ii. Vote will be conducted on the following positions Judge's Rep nominated Ron Kopas and Athlete's Rep nominated Sara Thibeault

MOTION #6

Gail Ashcroft moves:

E-Voting for the National Judges Rep will take place during the 30 days following the AGM by the respective member of the current registered Judging Association for the 2009/2011 term.

Seconded by: Karen Gratton

For: 12 Against: 0 Abstain: 0 Absent: 1

PASSED

MOTION #7

Gail Ashcroft moves:

Mail/fax voting for the National Athletes Rep for the 2009-2011 term will take place during 30 days following the AGM by athletes 15 years or older (by the end of 2009) prior to August 15, 2009.

Seconded by: Karen Gratton

For: 12 Against: 0 Abstain: 0 Absent: 0

PASSED

MOTION #8

Sandra Watt moves:

That the ballots from the elections of the 2009 AGM be destroyed.

Seconded by Ron Kopas

For: 11 Against: 0 Abstain: 0 Absent: 2

4. Other elections and appointments:

- **a.** Bonnie Brinker took over chair for election/appointment of Sanction Officer Gail Ashcroft
- **b.** Badge Officer (SDP Rep) Denise Johnston
- c. Group Events Representative appointment TBA
- **d.** Data Entry Coordinator to be posted on the web site for applications
- e. Manuals Library Coordinator Kim Johnson
- f. Music Library Coordinator Brenda Arsenault Leblanc
- g. Media Library Coordinator Rachel Bower

MOTION #9

Karen Gratton moved:

That the following be appointed for a 1 year term:

Kim Johnson: Manuals Library Coordinator

Brenda Arsenault LeBlanc: Music Library Coordinator

Rachel Bower: Media Library Coordinator

Seconded by Ron Kopas

For: 12 Against: 0 Abstain: 0 Absent: 1

PASSED

4. Ratification of actions

MOTION #10

Sandra Watt moved:

To ratify the actions of the CBTF Executive, Board of Directors and Technical Committee for the year 2008-09.

Seconded by: Karen Gratton

For: 12 Against: 0 Abstain: 0 Absent: 1

G. Adjournment at 9:00pm

MOTION #11

Gail Ashcroft moved:

To adjourn the 2009 AGM

Seconded by Michelle Bretherick

The 2009 AGM Minutes respectfully submitted by Charlene Priel